A A text size:

Organization

The NBB is a department of the Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience (NIN). The NIN is an institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and is situated in Amsterdam. The laboratory and tissue storage facilities and main NBB staff are located at the NIN. All autopsies are performed in VU University Medical Center (VUmc), Amsterdam.

The NBB donor communication team organizes donor recruitment and registration, and other public relations activities. It arranges autopsies and makes sure the donors' files are completed and summarized after the autopsy. The NBB laboratory staff cuts and stains all tissue for neuropathological diagnosis, stores and administrates tissue and data. The laboratory staff and tissue supply team communicate with researchers who request samples, and prepare the tissue samples for shipment to researchers. Autopsies are performed by a pathologist (VUmc), a mortuary assistant (VUmc) and two autopsy assistants (NBB / NIN), available 24/7.

For the NBB-Psy program, the NBB collaborates with several other organizations. More information about the organizational structure of NBB-Psy is available on the NBB-Psy website.

Personnel

Netherlands Institute for NeuroscienceFrom the Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience

 

Inge Huitinga, PhD
Inge Huitinga, PhD
Director of the NBB and project leader NBB-Psy
+31 20 566 54 99
i.huitinga@nin.knaw.nl
Adelia, MSc
Adelia, MSc
Technician NBB-Psy
+31 20 566 55 24
a.adelia@nin.knaw.nl
Afra van den Berg, MSc
Afra van den Berg, MSc
Technician
+31 20 566 55 02
a.van.den.berg@nin.knaw.nl
Petra Brom
Petra Brom
Communication officer donor program
+31 20 566 54 99
p.brom@nin.knaw.nl
Corbert van Eden, PhD
Corbert van Eden, PhD
Scientific staff member
+31 20 566 55 24
c.van.eden@nin.knaw.nl
Isabell Ehmer, BSc
Isabell Ehmer, BSc
Medical writer
+31 20 566 54 99
i.ehmer@nin.knaw.nl
Paul Evers, BAS
Paul Evers, BAS
Technician
+31 20 566 55 02
p.evers@nin.knaw.nl
Hanneke Geut, MSc
Hanneke Geut, MSc
PhD student (VUmc & NBB)
+31 20 566 54 99
h.geut@vumc.nl
Mignon de Goeij, MSc
Mignon de Goeij, MSc
Donor program and tissue dissemination officer
+31 20 566 5499
m.de.goeij@nin.knaw.nl
Bonnie van Huik, MSc
Bonnie van Huik, MSc
Administration coordinator
+31 20 566 54 78
b.van.huik@nin.knaw.nl
Michiel Kooreman, BAS
Michiel Kooreman, BAS
Technical coordinator
+31 20 566 54 78
m.kooreman@nin.knaw.nl
Sophie Kuijper
Sophie Kuijper
Administrative support
+31 20 566 54 99
s.kuijper@nin.knaw.nl
Geertje de Lange, MSc
Geertje de Lange, MSc
Project coordinator NBB-Psy
+31 20 566 54 78
g.de.lange@nin.knaw.nl
Mark Mizee, PhD
Mark Mizee, PhD
Postdoc researcher NBB-Psy
+31 20 566 54 98
m.mizee@nin.knaw.nl
Roxanne Roshandel
Roxanne Roshandel
Medical writer
+31 20 566 5499
r.roshandel@nin.knaw.nl
Ling Shan, PhD
Ling Shan, PhD
Account manager
+31 20 566 5478
l.shan@nin.knaw.nl

Personnel from VUmc

 

Pathologists

  • M. Bugiani, MD, PhD
  • J.M. Rozemuller, MD, PhD
  • P. van der Valk, MD, PhD
  • P. van der Voorn, MD, PhD
 

Mortuary assistants

  • A. Bakker
  • P. Kraaijeveld
  • T. Oldert
  • M. van Ooijen
  Logo Vumc

Autopsy team NBB / Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience

The team consists of technicians from the NBB and students, researchers and technicians from other organizations who participate in the team on an on-call basis.

  • J.J. Anink, BAS
  • A. van den Berg, MSc
  • C. Beudeker
  • N. Denneman
  • P. Evers, BAS
 
  • J. Fransen
  • M. Kooreman, BAS
  • A. Muller
  • M. oude Lohuis, MSc
 
  • U. Unmehopa, BAS
  • J. in 't Veld
  • D. de Waard
  • Y. van der Werf, PhD

Scientific committee (Tissue Advisory Board)

All tissue applications received by the NBB are reviewed by our scientific committee on quality of the proposed research and scientific merit. The scientific committee consists of:

  • I. Huitinga, PhD; Neuroimmunology
  • M. Kooreman, BAS; Technical coordinator
  • J.M. Rozemuller, MD, PhD (VUmc, Amsterdam), Neuropathology
  • J. Verhaagen, PhD (Netherlands Institute of Neuroscience, Amsterdam), Molecular biology
  • M. Mizee, PhD; postdoc researcher NBB-Psy

Additional members for NBB-Psy applications (brain material of donors with a psychiatric diagnosis):

  • Prof. Dr. P. Eikelenboom, emeritus professor of geriatric psychiatry
  • Dr. S. Palmen, clinical coordinator NBB-Psy and (child) psychiatrist UMC Utrecht

Advisory council

  • Prof. dr. D.A.J.P. Denys (Psychiatry)
  • Prof. mr. dr. J.K.M. Gevers (Health Law)
  • Prof. dr. P. Heutink (Genetics)
  • Drs. A.A. Keizer (Geriatrics)
  • Prof. dr. H.P.H. Kremer (Neurology)
  • Dr. E. Marchiori (Informatics)
  • Prof. dr. C.H. Polman (Neurology)
  • Prof. dr. P. van der Valk (Pathology)

Auxiliary staff

The NBB thanks the following employees of the VUmc and the Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience for their support:

  • J. van Veldhuisen and R. Otsen of the photography department of the VUmc.
  • All members of the incident room and the reception desk of the VUmc.
  • H. Stoffels, graphic designer of the Netherlands Institute of Neuroscience

 

Organization